And now for something completely different…

Alright, with that perky intro and a couple more entries I have since scrapped, I will get down to brass tacks with my current fascination.  The next few entries will be about getting to a strong personal finance position, as well as that choices that must be made and the tools that can be employed to that end.

If you are wealthy, if you have already saved a fortune and own your home outright, if you already know all this stuff, good for you!  But I think it is safe to say that a lot of people are not there yet.  Most of my peers, myself included, came out of college at a distinct disadvantage: with student loan debt neatly stacked and few prospects in the confusing maze of the working world.  That’s the way it’s always been, but it’s worse than ever with historically high college costs and the outrageous amounts of loans kids are willing to take out to get the top degree.  But now what?

I didn’t always have a particular plan, but some urgent and expensive dental work opened my eyes about my financial situation.  I started watching the Suze Orman Show on October 30, 2010 and started to grasp the following: you cannot even consider yourself as being financially secure until you have at least 8 months of emergency fund for all monthly costs.  But before that, or in addition to that, you also have to be at zero with bad debt.  If you have student debt, you probably want to get rid of that.  If you have credit card debt, you almost certainly want to get rid of that before anything else. And so on.

I don’t know why I hadn’t thought specifically about those ideas before.  I guess I was preoccupied with workplace survival and success, and enjoying the little money and freedom I really had now, out of college.  But it’s really so much better thinking about financial freedom.

Leave a Reply

