The times they are a’changin’…

I have had to take a few days to let my mind be blown away by the fact that the excellent Punch Debt In The Face is not the only student loan-related personal finance blog on the internet!

I know that sounds totally naive.  But I have been on my aggressive student loan journey since 2011, and that was after tackling a different financial/medical situation in 2010.  I actually don’t remember how I found PDITF, but I started reading it about 6 months ago.  I was satisfied in finding it, and was pleased to have something to read once in a while that has a positive message about trying to pay down your loans.

Then my student loan journey accelerated to the point that I wanted to start this blog to have a forum for discussing the topic with.. whomever.  My Facebook friends?  I don’t know.  I was inspired by PDITF but thought of that blog as famous, and mine naturally as esoteric, and did not see anything in between.  I was about to take the bold step of writing a post referencing a discussion on PDITF about whether to build an emergency fund while paying loans when I noticed that many people commenting on PDITF have their own blogs!  And those blogs reference even more related blogs.

As Mr. Money Mustache noted of the move toward frugal living,

But now the times are ‘a’ changin’. The Mustachian Nation has been born. Look around at the comments on these articles and in the Forum. These are real people, tens of thousands of them, who have collected here on a less-than-one-year-old website that does no advertising or promotion. These people were already out there, and they are growing in number every day as more people see the light.

And I realized I might be able to join a community of like-minded people rather than just hurtling my ideas into the void.  Other blogs I have found totally inspiring include:

Student Loan RAGE

No More Harvard Debt

The Simple Economist

And I’m sure I’ll find more.  My Firefox tabs are already a mess from this revelation.  What I have found really interesting about all of these writers is that they are positive, strong, and happy about the course they have chosen.  They are interested and well-versed in philosophy.  And not just quoting famous philosophers (which is what a lot of people seem to think it means to value philosophy), but sharing original ideas about the beauty and ethical impact of living frugally.

This is my kind of group!  I am so glad to have found all these great people whose bonafide movement I am joining.  I was saving money quietly and then blogging with uncertainty, but now it is time to quit being a wussypants and let this blog take course.

Leave a Reply

