May Grocery Budget Recap

I wrote early this month about reducing frivolous food shopping.  This would be the supplement to grocery store shopping by way of on-the-go food purchases.  I had noticed a trend of spending a ludicrous $86 at my workplace cafeteria and coffee shop in March, and a somewhat conscientious $59 in April.  I challenged myself to reduce convenience food costs from $59 to $20 even if I have to spend a little more on groceries to shore up (up to $39 that is).

So I was looking for a minimum savings of zero, with spending at least shifted from careless last-minute purchases to premeditated grocery store picks.  Ideally I was aiming for a $39 savings in frivolous food (hereafter known as frivfood) with no additional cost in the grocery category.

As it turns out, my grocery shopping (not too surprisingly) increased $20.  This is mostly due to proactive bulk-shopping to prevent work food outages and subsequent cafeteria strolls.  But I reduced my frivfood costs from $59 to $6!!!  Just by being prepared and having no need to wander over to the retail food.  So my $20 grocery uptick was offset by a pretty sweet $53 frivfood trim.  Overall savings of $33, just under the goal, with food spending drastically shifted to the preferable grocery store type.

In addition to being cheaper per unit, grocery store food tends to be healthier.  It also gives me the peace of mind of feeling organized and in control, instead of sloppy and scrambling for convenient bites with fewer options.  I will definitely try to maintain this lean approach to bag lunch badassity.

2 thoughts on “May Grocery Budget Recap

  1. Some cheap work food suggestions: bananas make a great snack and can be had for 69 cents a pound. They’re easily the cheapest piece of produce to use to supplement your diet. Store brand yogurt is also quite tasty, and is available for about 2.50 a pound.

    • Good call.. the funny thing is that everything is at least 50% cheaper at the grocery store. I usually feel like eating a sandwich and granola bar for lunch whether I did grocery planning or not. And I could get exactly that at the work cafeteria if I want. Difference is, assembling this lunch from groceries costs about $2.80 whereas the same at the cafeteria is about $6.00. So even the “fancy” grocery store granola bars pay off, and there’s still room to save from there.

Leave a Reply

