Time to do taxes!!!

To get you in the mood, I give you the classic Simpsons scene that I always think of this time of year, cleverly procured by my ace boyfriend:

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/34934693″>Ned Flanders, Homer Simpson & Taxes</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user8688597″>Brent Mowery</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Obviously I am on the Flanders side of things.  My Spidey Sense starts tingling around January 10th, and reliably my company releases our W2s around a week later.  Then I let loose the juice.. of tax preparation.

Why do I like doing taxes so much?  Cash money, baby!

One year I got $2600 in returns.  That was the easiest, and probably only, $1300/hour I will ever make.  I know returns are just excess withholdings. And it might do me better coming to me throughout the year rather than in a lump sum at the end of it. Blah blah blah.  But the lump sum feels powerful, and this year’s is going to blast me into the home stretch of my total loan payoff.

Want some more reasons to do taxes early?

  1. Identity theft.  Tax bandits just file other people’s taxes before the victim does, and collect bogus returns.  Apparently this is a thing now – a really sad, charmless crime.  But they can’t do it to you if you do it for yourself first.
  2. Everything is worse when you put it off.  When you procrastinate, you are forced to do things quickly and not at a time of your choosing.  The abundance of last-minute forms naturally take longer to process (and longer to provide returns).  And then the IRS people are cranky and stressed out too.
  3. Get on with your life!  I have a love/hate relationship with to-do lists.  Can’t live with ’em, can’t appear to be an organized adult without ’em.  I prefer to check this off the list quickly.

All that said, I still haven’t gotten my health insurance form so I can’t click the big “Submit” button just yet.  And the IRS isn’t accepting completed forms until 1/31.  But don’t let that stop you!  TurboTax (and probably other prep websites) will auto-submit completed and saved forms on 1/31.

I guess all my reasons to start early are common sense.  But why would anyone delay on “free” money?  (Unless you owe money at tax season?)

3 thoughts on “Time to do taxes!!!

  1. Good for you!! I haven’t gotten my W-2 yet… Mike wants to do his ASAP too! I’ll tell him you wrote a post all about doing them early, he’ll be so excited that someone else agrees. haha. You make good points!

    • Mike’s on the ball! It’s tough waiting around for these different forms that come in at different times. I think IRA forms are technically not due to tax payers until Feb 18, which is kind of a bummer. I basically filled out most of mine and saved it.

  2. Pingback: Killing it with Christmas Gifts! | Yay, Goodies.

Leave a Reply

