For my clever lady friends!

So it is my birthday, and I am sitting around eating ice cream and doing whatever I want.  Reading Facebook waiting for Superbowl’o’clock.  And I am seeing all this great financial news from my friends!

  • A very good friend of mine from grad school just paid off all her student loans
  • An old friend has committed to paying off her credit cards, and just negotiated lower interest rates

And this is just in the past 24 hours.  In the past few months, my closest friend bought her own home and will be creating equity for herself from here on out.  My old roommate bought a second residence for her family and potentially for rental income.  Another younger friend is already in debt-payoff mode (much earlier than I figured out to do).  Two people I know are pursuing self-employment to make their source of income more meaningful.  For all of us, I think 2014 will have good things.

I didn’t mean for this to be an “independent ladies” post either – it is just that it seems to be mostly the ladies who are making these financial gains, or announcing them.  In all fairness, I have a guy friend from high school who also announced financial independence this past month 🙂

I’m not going to lie and say it’s my single birthday wish for everyone to do well financially, but it is my general everyday wish for my friends to experience the financial realizations and gains that I have been fortunate enough to experience as well.  I’m glad to see that it’s happening – who knows, maybe it’s even a trend.

Image from http://portable.tv/culture/post/the-womans-declaration-of-independence/

4 thoughts on “For my clever lady friends!

  1. Happy Birthday, Vanessa — We love you very much and are extraordinarily proud of you! “V” in your name is for VICTORIOUS!! xxoo

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! I hope you had an awesome day!! 🙂 Eating ice cream is always a good choice.

    I love hearing about my friends making big financial moves. Now that I’ve told them about my blog, I think they feel more comfortable talking to me about money stuff, and I love it!!

    • Thank you!!! Totally – I am finding financial health to be an interesting new thing to talk with friends about. And I agree.. I think they might have been shy before but don’t care now that they read all my most personal thoughts on the topic. Win-win I think!

Leave a Reply

