Would you buy a Chocolate Cake House?

front

I would.  And I am!  Because when I ask myself “do I want an austere, respectable residence, or one that resembles a confection?” I know the answer.

My idea, as I could not simply go live in a house, is to try to fix this fixer-upper and get out of it at least what I put into it.  Much as I would love to disclose all the juicy details and turn Yay Goodies into a house reno brass tacks blog, I would not want a potential buyer to ever access this information and decide that they want to offer less on Abode a la Mode.

But I will say this: I think I got a decent price for it, about $50K lower than the average purchase price of the other similar houses in this neighborhood over the past 5 years.  As well however: the bones are good but the rest is seriously questionable.  Epic amounts of DIY and professional intervention will transpire.  Here is a taste of what I have planned:

Immediate term (0-3 months out)

  • Rip out all carpets (immediately); open all windows; light fruity candles
  • Gas service installation before winter
  • Install gas washer/dryer combo (sellers took the washer/dryer)
  • Replace all candelabra-style chandeliers with something from the 21st century
  • Add hose extension to faucet on single bathtub in house (seriously how did they wash their hair and rinse shoulders etc.???)
  • Take strange cardboard tiling off of bathroom walls and tub
  • Install dishwasher
  • Start to sort out hardwood flooring

Mid-term (4-6 months out)

  • Add gas heating system
  • Get architect to plan garage addition options (-bay or 2, and single story or two-story with master suite above, depending on cost and zoning regulations)
  • Plan out main house reno options based on most likely addition option
  • Keep working on flooring throughout

Long-ish term (6-9 months out)

  • Get contractor to add attached garage
  • Paint house and addition some exciting new color
  • Move current kitchen sink to new mudroom/laundry room

Longer term (9-12 months out)

  • Update kitchen a little or a lot with backup sink; take down wall to living room maybe
  • Finish updating bathroom based on how much everything else cost

So if you ever wanted to see a real-life house reno in detail, stay tuned.  The nice thing about these updates is that they are modular, and for the most part vary in price directly with time.  I could probably stop at any point and still be in good shape.  The main cost items here of course are the gas conversion and garage addition, but I think gas and garages are highly desirable.

So I guess stick around, and I will show you honestly what a cake can turn into.

4 thoughts on “Would you buy a Chocolate Cake House?

    • Thanks Eileen!! I will follow up with pictures. It is a blast from the past for sure, but I also see the old elegance peeking through.

  1. I would definitely choose a confection house over a boring house! So interesting to read your update, will be looking forward to more information! Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Lending Club Experiment: Done | Yay, Goodies.

Leave a Reply

